Formula 1 does not replace the Chinese GP and the 2023 season will have 23 races | Sports

Next season’s Formula 1 World Cup will continue to be the longest in history despite the fact that the organization of the event confirmed this Tuesday that there will be no replacement for the Chinese Grand Prix, initially scheduled for mid-April and which was canceled ago months due to the restrictions derived from the coronavirus in the Asian country. In this way, the calendar will be set at 23 grand prix, with the inaugural event in Bahrain, on March 5, and the last one in Abu Dhabi, on November 26. It so happens that that same day is when the MotoGP World Championship is scheduled to end, where appropriate, in Valencia. At first, the possibility of postponing the test in Shanghai and moving it later was considered, an alternative that did not come to fruition, nor did the attempt to recover the Portuguese Grand Prix, in Portimão, which was used as a resource in 2020 and in 2021.

As a consequence of this latest decision, the F1 schedule will remain almost empty in April, between the races in Melbourne (April 2) and Baku (April 30). The Spanish Grand Prix will be held from June 2 to 4, in Montmeló, and will be the eighth stop of the year. “Formula 1 can confirm that the 2023 financial year will consist of 23 races. In this way, the dates of the current calendar will remain unchanged, ”the championship reported in the information note.

The fact that 24 events will not finally be held has a considerable impact on the technical planning that the teams will do, given that, for example, the number of gearboxes that they will be able to use will be reduced to a total of four, instead of of the five that would have been available had a replacement for China been found.

Formula 1 calendar 2023

1. Bahrain Grand Prix (March 3-5)
2. Saudi Arabian Grand Prix (March 17-19)
3. Australian Grand Prix (March 31-April 2)
4. Azerbaijan Grand Prix (April 28-30)
5. Miami Grand Prix (May 5-7)
6. Emilia Romagna Grand Prix (May 19-21)
7. Monaco Grand Prix (May 26-28)
8. Spanish Grand Prix (June 2-4)
9. Canadian Grand Prix (June 16-18)
10. Austrian Grand Prix (July 1-2)
11. British Grand Prix (July 7-9)
12. Hungarian Grand Prix (July 21-23)
13. Belgian Grand Prix (July 28-30)
14. Dutch Grand Prix (August 25-27)
15. Italian Grand Prix (September 1-3)
16. Singapore Grand Prix (September 15-17)
17. Japanese Grand Prix (September 22-24)
18. Qatar Grand Prix (October 6-8)
19. United States Grand Prix (October 20-22)
20. Mexican Grand Prix (October 27-29)
21. Brazilian Grand Prix (November 3-5)
22. Las Vegas Grand Prix (November 16-18)
23. Abu Dhabi Grand Prix (November 14-26).

You can follow EL PAÍS Sports on Facebook Y Twitteror sign up here to receive our weekly newsletter.